What You Really Need for Freshman Year of High School

Cheers to high school! Yep, I’ve been there and done that! I can finally share my freshman year experience with others. But, that’s not what this is about! I remember back in middle school the school provided a supply sheet for us. In high school, they do not! Looks like you are on your own. But trust me, you do not need all that wonky stuff.

Color Pencils and Crayons

You do not need a bunch of color pencils and crayons. You will probably color once or twice each year. I personally, never bought color pencils for high school, all of my teachers usually provide pencils to the class. If you do get some, just get one pack, that’s all you’ll need.

Folders

Some classes require folders. I say just wait until you get your syllabus and get folders if you need them. Do not go out and spend your money on them unless you want to. 

Pencils

I recommend getting mechanical pencils and extra lead because if you get wood pencils they would break and sometimes will not sharpen. So just trying to be on the safe side.

Paper

This is pretty self explanatory. You know you will need paper so get a few packs. At Walmart, one pack of paper is probably 80 cents!

Flash drive

At my school, we have online classes that we can take, so because of that I always get a flash drive. It’s helpful and you can get the ones that clip on to your keys.

Calculator

You WILL need a calculator. Especially if you take a hard math class. With this, you will not have to use the teacher’s calculator.

Money, money, money

Lastly, you will need money. Most schools have vending machines that you can get snacks and drinks from. So it’s good to have at least $3.

So ladies and gents, that’s all I have for today! If you guys have any other “must need school supplies” that you want the fellow freshmans to know, comment them down below!

Check out my other freshman advice posts here!

Leave a Reply

